Bristol City boss Lee Johnson has revealed he voted for Sheffield United counterpart Chris Wilder as manager of the year.

Wilder picked up the award from the EFL, while two Blades – captain Billy Sharp and Oliver Norwood – were named in the team of the season.

Ahead of City’s trip to Bramall Lane this weekend, Johnson has been speaking of his admiration for the United chief.

“I think he did get my vote actually,” the 37-year-old told Bristol Live.

“I think he’s done a fantastic job. And did a really good job getting them promoted.

“They play a very unique style that I really enjoy watching, and obviously playing against and he’s a good manager.

“He’s done that extremely well so if there’s anyone that deserves success it’s Chris.”

(Photo by Mark Fletcher/MI News/NurPhoto via Getty Images)

Why did Wilder get award?

The 51-year-old was given the gong after helping the Blades to their current position of second.

Last season – the club’s first back in the Championship in six years – United also started strongly before drifting to an eventual finish of 10th.

That will not be the case this time around, even if they don’t win promotion to the Premier League. Currently leaders Norwich City are favourites to go up, while Leeds United are only a point behind Wilder’s men.

There is then a six-point gap between Leeds and fourth-placed West Bromwich Albion, suggesting it is going to be two of the aforementioned three to get promoted.

Despite there still being eight matches left to play, United are already in a better position than they were in 2017/18. Last term they ended with 69 points and 20 wins. This time around they have 22 victories and 74 points.

This isn’t the first taste of success Wilder has had, either, as he continues to build his sterling reputation. In 2015/16 he was named League Two manager of the season after guiding Northampton Town to the title.

Arguably Wilder should have also won the League One award the following year as the Blades won the division with 100 points. Instead, Fleetwood Town’s Uwe Rosler was given the nod.

Related Topics